View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


Giacomo Puccini

Giacomo Puccini Composer

Suor Angelica (opera)

Performances: 48
Tracks: 72
  • Suor Angelica (opera)
    Year: 1918
    Genre: Opera
    Pr. Instrument: Voice
    • 1.Ave Maria, piena di grazia
    • 2.Sorelle in umità
    • 3.Suor Lucilla, il lavoro
    • 4.Oh sorelle, sorelle!
    • 5.O sorelle in pio lavoro
    • 6.Ho un desiderio anch'io!
    • 7.Suor Angelica, sentite!
    • 8.Laudate Maria! E sempre sia!
    • 9.Chi è venuto stasera in parlatorio?
    • 10.Suor Angelica! Madre, Madre, parlate!
    • 11.Il Principe Gualtiero vostro padre
    • 12.Vostra sorella Anna Viola
    • 13.Nel silenzio di quei raccoglimenti
    • 14.Tutto ho offerto alla Vergine
    • 15.Senza mamma, o bimbo, tu sei morto
    • 16.Sorella, o buona sorella
    • 17.La grazia è discesa dal cielo (Intermezzo)
    • 18.Addio, buone sorelle, addio!
    • 19.Ah, son dannata!
    • 20.O gloriosa virginum
Suor Angelica (1918) is the second installment in Puccini's triptych of one-act operas commonly known as Il trittico. The opera chronicles the fall, redemption, and final transfiguration of its central character, Sister Angelica, who has taken the veil in repentance for bearing a child out of wedlock. The libretto, by Giovacchino Forzano, was immediately appealing to the composer, whose sister Igenia was Mother Superior of the convent at Vicepelago. Though it contains some of Puccini's most adventurous writing—the musical language at times even flirts with polytonality—the work has not enjoyed popularity comparable to that of its companions, Il Tabarro and Gianni Schicchi, each of which has enjoyed an independent life in the repertory. However, Angelica's aria "Senza mamma" (Without your mother), one of the most poignant moments in any of Puccini's works, has remained a recital favorite, and the opera is still staged in productions of the entire trittico.

© All Music Guide
Portions of Content Provided by All Music Guide.
© 2008 All Media Guide, LLC. All Music Guide is a registered trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.
Select a performer for this work
© 1994-2015 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™