NewCA Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


Alexander Grigori Harutiunian (1920-2012); ARM

Play Radio
Loading, please wait...
Alexander Grigori Harutiunian

Read biography at


Alexander Arutiunyan was born in 1920 in Yerevan, Armenia. He received his principal musical education at the Yerevan State Komitas Conservatory, where over a period of twelve years, from 1934 to 1946, he studied under a number of top Armenian musicians: including composition with S-V. Baqarkhudaryan, V-G. Talyan, D-R. Rogal-Levitsky, and M. Veprik in composition; and piano with O-A. Babasyan and K-M. Ignumnov.

Since graduation, Mr. Arutiunyan has been an active and celebrated member of the Armenian contemporary music scene. He has composed in a wide variety of genres and styles - including numerous orchestral works, as well as chamber and vocal music, and an opera. He has also composed for films and theater presentations, some in a more popular vein. Much of his music displays an influence of Armenian folk music, and reflects his deep commitment to the nobility of the individual and the power of humanism.

Beyond his work as a composer, Mr. Arutiunyan has pursued other musical duties in Armenia. Between 1954 and 1990, he was the Artistic Director of the Armenian Philharmonic Society. From 1965 he has been associated with the Yerevan State Komitas Conservatory - first as a lecturer, and since 1977 as a professor of composition. Mr. Arutiunyan holds several honorary titles, including People's Artist of the Republic of Armenia (1964) and People's Artist of the USSR (1970); as well as several awards, including being a laureate of Armenia's State Premium (1970), the "Mesrop Mashtots" Award (1993), and the "Khorenatsi" Medal (1999); in 2004, he was made a member of the St. Sahak and St. Mesrop Order (Etchmiazin). We are very pleased to feature the music of this important composer.

Alexander Arutiunyan

Alexander Grigori Read biography at More
Click on a category to view the list of works
Below are works by A.Harutiunian that every music lover should explore:
© 1994-2021 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™