Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel Composer

Esther, HWV50a

Performances: 7
Tracks: 67
  • Esther, HWV50a
    Year: 1718
    Genre: Oratorio
    Pr. Instruments: Voice & Chorus/Choir
    • Scene 1
      • 1.Overture
      • 2.Recitative: 'Tis greater far to spare
      • 3.Aria: Pluck root and branch from out the land
      • 4.Recitative: Our souls with ardour glow
      • 5.Chorus: Shall we the God of Israel fear?
    • Scene 2
      • 1.Recitative: Now persecution shall lay by her iron rod
      • 2.Aria: Tune your harps to cheerful strains
      • 3.Chorus: Shall we of servitude complain?
      • 4.Aria: Praise the Lord with cheerful noise
      • 5.Recitative: O God, who from the suckling's mouth
      • 6.Aria: Sing songs of praise, bow down the knee; 7.Recitative: How have our sins provoked the Lord!
    • Scene 3
      • 1.Recitative: How have our sins provoked the Lord!
      • 2.Chorus: Ye sons of Israel mourn
      • 3. Aria: O Jordan, Jordan, sacred tide; 4.Recitative: Why sits that sorrow on thy brow?
    • Scene 4
      • 1.Recitative: Why sits that sorrow on thy brow?
      • 2.Aria: Dread not, righteous queen, the danger
      • 3.Recitative: I go before the king to stand
      • 4.Aria: Tears assist me, pity moving
      • 5.Chorus: Save us, o Lord
    • Scene 5
      • 1.Recitative: Who dares intrude into our presence
      • 2.Duet: Who calls my parting soul from death?
      • 3.Aria: O beauteous queen, unclose those eyes!
      • 4.Recitative: If I find favour in thy sight
      • 5.Aria: How can I stay when love invites?
      • 6.Recitative: With inward joy his visage glows
      • 7.Chorus: Virtue, truth, and innocence
      • 8.Arioso: Jehovah, crown'd with glory bright
      • 9.Chorus: He comes, He comes to end our woes
    • Scene 6
      • 1.Recitative: Now, o queen, thy suit declare
      • 2.Arioso: Turn not, o queen, thy face away
      • 3.Aria: Flatt'ring rogue, no more I hear thee!
      • 4.Recitative: Guards, seize the traitor, bear him hence!
      • 5.Aria: How art thou fall'n from thy height!
      • 6.Chorus: The Lord our enemy has slain; 7.Chorus: For ever blessed be thy holy name

Read work review at

Select a performer for this work
© 1994-2019 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™