NewCA Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel Composer

Messiah, HWV56 (standard version)

Performances: 298
Tracks: 3704
  • Messiah, HWV56 (standard version)
    Year: 1741
    Genre: Oratorio
    Pr. Instruments: Voice & Chorus/Choir
    • Part 1
      • 1.Sinfonia
      • 2.Recitative (Tenor): Comfort ye, my people
      • 3.Aria (Tenor): Every valley shall be exalted
      • 4.Chorus: And the glory of the Lord
      • 5.Recitative (Bass): Thus saith the Lord of Hosts
      • 6.Aria (Bass): But who may abide
      • 7.Chorus: And He shall purify
      • 8.Recitative (Alto): Behold, a virgin shall conceive
      • 9.Aria (Alto) and Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion
      • 10.Recitative (Bass): For behold, darkness shall cover the earth
      • 11.Aria (Bass): The people that walked in darkness
      • 12.Chorus: For unto us a Child is born
      • 13.Pifa: Pastoral Symphony
      • 14.Recitative (Soprano): There were shepherds abiding in the fields
      • 15-16.Recitative and Arioso (Soprano): And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them
      • 17.Recitative (Soprano): And the angel said unto them
      • 18.Recitative (Soprano): And suddenly there was with the angel
      • 19.Chorus: Glory to God in the highest
      • 20.Aria (Soprano): Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion
      • 21.Recitative (Soprano): Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened
      • 22.Aria (Soprano): He shall feed His flock like a shepherd
      • 23.Chorus: His yoke is easy, and His burden is light
    • Part 2
      • 24.Chorus: Behold, the Lamb of God
      • 25.Aria (Alto): He was despised and rejected of men
      • 26.Chorus: Surely He hath borne our griefs
      • 27.Chorus: And with His stripes we are healed
      • 28.Chorus: All we like sheep have gone astray
      • 29.Recitative (Tenor): All they that see Him, laugh Him to scorn
      • 30.Chorus: He trusted in God that He would deliver Him
      • 31.Recitative (Tenor): Thy rebuke hath broken His heart
      • 32.Aria (Tenor): Behold and see if there be any sorrow
      • 33.Recitative (Tenor): He was cut off out of the land of the living
      • 34.Aria (Tenor): But Thou didst not leave His soul in hell
      • 35.Chorus: Lift up your heads, O ye gates
      • 36.Recitative (Tenor): Unto which of the angels said He
      • 37.Chorus: Let all the angels of God worship Him
      • 38.Aria (Bass or Alto): Thou art gone up on high
      • 39.Chorus: The Lord gave the Word
      • 40.Aria (Soprano): How beautiful are the feet
      • 41.Arioso (Tenor): Their sound is gone out into all lands
      • 42.Chorus: Their sound is gone out into all the lands
      • 43.Aria (Bass): Why do the nations so furiously rage together?
      • 44.Chorus: Let us break our bonds asunder
      • 45.Recitative (Tenor): He that dwelleth in heaven
      • 46.Aria and Recitative (Tenor): Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron
      • 47.Chorus: Hallelujah! For the Lord God omnipotent reigneth ('Hallelujah Chorus')
    • Part 3
      • 48.Aria (Soprano): I know that my Redeemer liveth
      • 49.Chorus: Since by man came death
      • 50.Recitative (Bass): Behold, I tell you a mystery
      • 51.Aria (Bass): The trumpet shall sound
      • 52.Recitative (Alto): Then shall be brought to pass
      • 53.Duet (Alto, Tenor): O death, where is thy sting?
      • 54.Chorus: But thanks be to God
      • 55.Aria (Alto): If God be for us
      • 56.Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain
      • 57.Chorus: Amen

Read work review at

Addendum: Joy to the World (Christmas carol, adapted from the Messiah, by Lowell Mason for his opera 'Antioch'; text adapted from the poem of Isaac Watts)

Read work review at

Select a performer for this work
© 1994-2021 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™