NewCA Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel Composer

Judas Maccabaeus, HWV63

Performances: 78
Tracks: 507
  • Judas Maccabaeus, HWV63
    Year: 1746
    Genre: Oratorio
    Pr. Instruments: Voice & Chorus/Choir
    • Act 1
      • 1.Overture
      • 2.Chorus: Mourn, ye afflicted children
      • 3.Recitative: Well may your sorrows
      • 4.Duet: From This dread scene
      • 5.Chorus: For Zion lamentation make
      • 6.Recitative: Not vain is all this storm of grief
      • 7.Air: Pious orgies, pious airs
      • 8.Chorus: O Father, whose almighty power
      • 9. Recitative: I feel, I feel the deity within
      • 10. Air: Arm, arm ye brave!; 11.Chorus: We come in bright array
      • 12.Recitative: 'Tis well, my friends
      • 13.Air: Call forth thy pow'rs, my soul
      • 14.Recitative: To Heav'n's almighty king
      • 15.Air: O Liberty, thou choicest treasure
      • 16.Air: Come, ever-smiling liberty
      • 17.Recitative: O Judas, may these noble views
      • 18.Air: 'Tis liberty, dear liberty alone
      • 19.Duet: Come, ever-smiling liberty
      • 20.Chorus: Lead on, lead on!
      • 21.Recitative: So will'd my father
      • 22.Chorus: Disdainful of danger
      • 23.Recitative: Ambition!
      • 24.Air: No, No unhallow'd desire
      • 25.Chorus: Hear us, o Lord
    • Act 2
      • 1.Chorus: Fall'n is the foe
      • 2.Recitative: Victorious hero!
      • 3.Air: So rapid thy course is
      • 4.Recitative: Well may hope our freedom to receive
      • 5.Duet: Zion now her head shall raise
      • 6.Recitative: Oh, let eternal honours
      • 7.Air: From mighty kings
      • 8.Duet and Chorus: hail, hail, Judea
      • 9.Recitative: Thanks to my brethren
      • 10.Air: How vain Is man
      • 11.Recitative: O Judas, o my brethren!
      • 12.Air and Chorus: Ah! Wretched Israel!
      • 13.Recitative: Be comforted
      • 14.Air: The Lord worketh wonders
      • 15.Recitative: My Arms! Against this Gorgias
      • 16.Air and Chorus: Sound an alarm!
      • 17.Recitative: Enough! To Heav'n we leave the rest
      • 18.Air: With pious hearts
      • 19.Recitative: Ye worshippers of God
      • 20.Air: Wise men, flattering, may deceive you
      • 21.Duet: Oh! Never bow we down. 22.Chorus: We never will bow down
    • Act 3
      • 1.Air: Father of Heaven
      • 2.Recitative: See, see yon flames
      • 3.Recitative: Oh grant it, heav'n
      • 4.So shall the lute and harp awake
      • 5.Recitative: From Capharsalama
      • 6.Chorus: See, the conqu'ring hero comes!
      • 7.March
      • 8.Duet and Chorus: Sing unto God
      • 9.Recitative: Sweet flow the strains
      • 10.Air: With Honour Let desert be crown'd
      • 11.Recitative: Peace to my countrymen
      • 12.Chorus: To our great God be all the honour giv'n
      • 13.Recitative: Again to Earth
      • 14.Duet: O lovely peace
      • 15.Air: Rejoice, O Judah! 16.Chorus: Hallelujah! Amen
      • 16.Chorus: Hallelujah, Amen

Read work review at

Select a performer for this work
© 1994-2021 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™