NewCA Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


Benjamin Britten

Benjamin Britten Composer

Rape of Lucretia, Op.37 (chamber opera)

Performances: 6
Tracks: 99
  • Rape of Lucretia, Op.37 (chamber opera)
    Year: 1947
    Genre: Opera
    Pr. Instrument: Voice
    • Act 1
      • 1.Sc.1: Rome is Now Ruled by the Etruscan Upstart
      • 2.Sc.1: It is an Axion Among Kings
      • 3.Sc.1: Here the Thirsty Evening Has drunk the Wine of Light
      • 4.Sc.1: Who Reaches Heaven First is the Best Philosopher
      • 5.Sc.1: Maria was Unmasked at a Masked Ball
      • 6.Sc.1: Collatinus is Politically Astute to Choose a Virtuous Wife
      • 7.Sc.1: There Goes a Happy Man!
      • 8.Sc.1: Tarquinius Does Not Dare
      • 9.Sc.1: My Horse! My Horse!
      • 10.Sc.2: Their Spinning-Wheel Unwinds
      • 11.Sc.2: Listen! I Heard a Knock
      • 12.Sc.2: Time Treads Upon the Hands of Women
      • 13.Sc.2: The Oatmeal Slippers of Sleep Creep Through the City
    • Act 2
      • 1.Sc.1: The Prosperity of the Etruscans
      • 2.Sc.1: She Sleeps as a Rose Upon the Night
      • 3.Sc.1: Within this Frail Crucible of Light
      • 4.Sc.1: Lucretia! What Do You Want? You!
      • 5.Interlude: Here in this Scene You See Virtue Assailed by Sin
      • 6.Sc.2: Oh! What a Lovely Day!
      • 7.Sc.2: We'll Leave the Orchids for Lucretia to Arrange
      • 8.Sc.2: Flowers Bring to Every Year the Same Perfection
      • 9.Sc.2: You Were Right. Tarquinius Took One of the Horses
      • 10.Sc.2: Lucretia! Lucretia!
      • 11.Sc.2: Last Night Tarquinius Ravished Me
      • 12.Sc.2: This Dead Hand Lets Fall All That My Heart Held When Full
      • 13.Epilogue: Is it All?

Read work review at

Select a performer for this work
© 1994-2020 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™