NewCA Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel Composer

Acis and Galatea, HWV49 (opera)

Performances: 36
Tracks: 361
  • Acis and Galatea, HWV49 (opera)
    Year: 1718
    Genre: Opera
    Pr. Instrument: Voice
    • 1.Sinfonia
    • 2.Chorus: Oh, the pleasure of the plains!
    • 3.Accompagnato: Ye verdant plains and woody mountains
    • 4.Aria: Hush, ye pretty warbling quire!
    • 5.Aria: Where shall I seek the charming fair?
    • 6.Recitative: Stay, shepherd, stay!
    • 7.Aria: Shepherd, what art thou pursuing?
    • 8.Recitative: Lo! here my love!
    • 9.Aria: Love in her eyes sits playing
    • 10.Recitative: Oh! didst thou know the pains of absent love
    • 11.Aria: As when the dove
    • 12a.Duet: Happy we!
    • 13.Chorus: Wretched lovers! Fate has past
    • 14.Accompagnato: I rage, I melt, I burn!
    • 15.Aria: O ruddier than the cherry
    • 17.Aria: Cease to beauty to be suing
    • 16.Recitative: Whither, fairest, art thou running
    • 18.Aria: Would you gain the tender creature
    • 19.Recitative: His hideous love provokes my rage
    • 20.Aria: Love sounds th'alarm
    • 21.Aria: Consider, fond shepherd
    • 22.Recitative: Cease, O cease, thou gentle youth
    • 23.Trio: The flocks shall leave the mountains
    • 24.Accompagnata: Help, Galatea! help, ye parent gods
    • 25.Chorus: Mourn, all ye muses! weep, all ye swains!
    • 26.Solo and Chorus: Must I my Acis still bemoan
    • 27.Recitative: Tis done: thus I exert my pow'r divine
    • 28.Aria: Heart, the seat of soft delight
    • 29.Chorus: Galatea, dry thy tears

Read work review at

Select a performer for this work
© 1994-2020 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™