NewCA Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome


George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel Composer

Alexander's Feast, ode for St. Cecilia's Day, HWV75

Performances: 23
Tracks: 297
  • Alexander's Feast, ode for St. Cecilia's Day, HWV75
    Year: 1736
    Genre: Oratorio
    Pr. Instruments: Voice & Chorus/Choir
    • Part 1
      • 1.Overture
      • 2.Recitative: 'Twas at the royal feast
      • 3.Air and Chorus: Happy, happy, happy pair!
      • 4.Recitative: Timotheus placed on high
      • 5.Accompanied recitative: The song began from Jove
      • 6.Chorus: The listening crowd admired the lofty sound!
      • 7.Air: With ravish'd ears
      • 8.Recitative: The praise of Bacchus then
      • 9.Air and Chorus: Bacchus, ever fair and young
      • 10.Recitative: Soothed with the sound, the king grew vain
      • 11.Accompanied recitative: He chose a mournful Muse
      • 12.Air: He sung Darius, great and good
      • 13.Accompanied recitative: With downcast looks the joyless victor sate
      • 14.Chorus: Behold Darius great and good
      • 15.Recitative: The mighty master smiled to see
      • 16.Air: Softly sweet in Lydian measures
      • 17.Air: War, he sung, is toil and trouble
      • 18.Chorus: The many rend the skies with loud applause
      • 19.Air: The prince, unable to conceal his pain
    • Part 2
      • 1.Air and Recitative: Revenge, revenge, Timotheus cries ... Behold, a ghastly band
      • 2.Accompanied recitative with Chorus: Now strike the golden lyre again ... Break his bonds of sleep asunder
      • 3.Accompanied recitative: Give the vengeance due
      • 4.Air and Chorus: Thaïs led the way ... The princes applaud with a furious joy
      • 5.Accompanied recitative: Thus, long ago
      • 6.Chorus: At last divine Cecilia came
      • 7.Recitative: Your voices tune, and raise them high
      • 8.Duet: Let's imitate her notes above!
      • 9.Recitative and Chorus: Let old Timotheus yield the prize

Read work review at

Select a performer for this work
© 1994-2020 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™