NewCA Blog How To
View Cart
Use Facebook login
LOGOUT  Welcome

Tafelmusik: The Galileo Project: February 28, 2012

Our latest Noteworthy video presents a segment from the forthcoming DVD by the Canadian ensemble Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, entitled The Galileo Project: Music of the Spheres, to be released on March 27, 2012. This is a multi-media program that combines a variety of works from the early to late Baroque with images and narratives relaying the life and scientific achievements of Galileo Galilei (1564-1642) – which Tafelmusik toured from 2009 (initially conceived to correspond with the International Year of Astronomy) through 2011. Each segment features a distinct musical work preceded by a brief narrative and accompanied by beautiful images associated with Galileo’s achievements; in this case, the work is Vivaldi’s Concerto in A for 2 Violins, Op.3, No.5, from which the opening Allegro and Largo are performed. It features violinists Jeanne Lamon, Julia Wedman, and Geneviève Gilardeau. Tell us what you think!

To pre-order the full DVD, visit

Tafelmusik performs Vivaldi’s Concerto in A for 2 Violins, Op.3, No.5, from The Galileo Project

© 1994-2023 Classical Archives LLC — The Ultimate Classical Music Destination ™